asfenchick.blogg.se

Pixplant 3 vs shadermap
Pixplant 3 vs shadermap




pixplant 3 vs shadermap

Okay, so I imported the plane to 3D Coat as a retopo mesh. It was a rough fit, so I don't think it would be 100% seamless, but I was trying to get this baking to work first. Then I moved it and scaled to roughly fit the hi-res geometry exported from 3D Coat with reduced poly count (99% reduction). The reason I created a new retopo mesh is because Andrew's gave weird results after baking (I don't know why). In Silo I created a simple poly plane consisting of 1 quad (although it's probably better to import a high-poly plane, because it works faster in the paint room). The first work-around - flawed (middle-placement and high ray-casting range): Then, I tried two work-arounds and it did bake. normal way, but with the same results as yours. Maybe Andrew will do something about it sometime in the future, but I imagine it would be hard to implement.Ībout your scene, I was trying to bake the normals the. Oh I wish it was that easy to make seamless maps in 3D Coat. And yes they're for terrain textures in a game, it's a game art technique. I then put these together to create the complete Diffuse and the Normal is already done. I'm not trying to displace geo it's just the textures I'm after (diffuse, AO, Normal, and a cavity/highlight map) but Diffuse and Normal would do for now.

pixplant 3 vs shadermap

Nothing comes close to a normal map being made from high res and it works for ground textures just as well (if you can get them tiling with no seams or glitches from the program) If they're spat out from CB then they're not correct and look amateur. I mentioned it was for games because in games you can get very close to them, move around them - real time lighting, day & night cycles etc really show them up. Are you intending then to use displacement maps to do a game-ready tileable texture? Can you elaborate? I do understand the difference between normal maps and displacement maps. Hmm.I guess I'm somehow missing the connection between game-oriented tileable texture work and what you're doing. I'm curious to see how that works, and perhaps Andrew can see how it works, too. Would you please record a video of you doing the same in Mudbox. You're trying to get a clean projection from 3 dimensional objects, like rocks onto a flat, 2 dimensional object that is nothing like it, in shape. he mentions you'll get a crappy bake if both your high poly and low poly objects aren't very close in shape. As you could see in the 3ds Max texture baking tut. It's another matter entirely, baking a displacement map from a flat plane.

pixplant 3 vs shadermap

It's one thing to generate displacement from a flat plane, using a map. I'm sure you guys would know what I'm doing wrong as soon as you try it. Throw down some geo and see if you can get any results. If anyone gets a chance please try the scene in the op. Baking to a plane In mudbox you would put the high res model above and the plane below and bake but it doesn't do the tiling thing that ZB and 3DC can do. I'm familiar with Max baking also MubBox. If you haven't seen this vid check it out and you'll see how amazing ground textures can be using this method.Īlso I do have a retopo mesh in the scene, the green plane which I tried moving up and down, expanding the cage from 150 to 4000.Ĭheers Abnranger, I've seen that video and have been using those parameters to try and raise the cage (but instead of raising it like in the video it expands it above and below - see pic) and have also tried raising the retopo plane with the transform but its giving even worse results (the nasty normal map in the image) Crazy etc are great for getting quick dirty normal maps from photos/textures but they aren't correct at all. You get way better normal maps and AO etc if you create a ground texture with 3d elements. I'm doing something completely wrong but I'm not sure what.Īlso is it possible to get an AO map as well? I've tried lost of different scan depths but the results are similar. With a scan depth of ( in 300 - out 1000) I get this result below This is what it looks like in the Retopo room.īack in the paint room I go to 'textures/texture baking tool' and bake out the diffuse and normal maps but they look like this. (had to tick 'show beta tools' in preferences to be able to paint on the voxels) I've placed down some rocks in the Voxel room (on the same layer as the middle plane) I'm very new to 3dCoat so I'm not sure of the work flow for this particular procedure. I asked about it in this thread but it's a little quiet over there in the suggestions area so sorry for the double up.Īnyway Andrew was kind enough to share this scene which is set up for tiling.

pixplant 3 vs shadermap

I downloaded the demo a few days ago, which I'm loving so far and one of the things I was hoping 3dc could do is 3d tiling textures.






Pixplant 3 vs shadermap